Call Today 303.622.3281

Cannabis Laws in Colorado

Colorado was one of the first states to legalize recreational cannabis use. Ever since then, both residents and visitors have been curious about how the law works. The following article is an overview of how the Rocky Mountain State’s marijuana laws work.

Who can purchase cannabis in Colorado?

In order to buy recreational marijuana in the state, you need to be at least 21 years of age and have a government-issued ID for proof. You do not need to be a resident to purchase recreational cannabis.

For those between the ages of 18 and 21, you must apply for a medical card. This only applies to Colorado residents, not visitors.

Who can sell marijuana?

Only licensed cannabis dispensaries can sell marijuana; however, not all medical marijuana dispensaries sell recreational cannabis. It is against the law for an unlicensed person or entity to sell pot. Sale of under four ounces of marijuana is a Level 1 Drug Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 18 months and fines of up to $5,000.

How much cannabis can I purchase and possess?

Residents and visitors can buy and possess up to one ounce of pot at a time. Possession of more than an ounce, but less than two ounces, is considered a criminal offense punishable by a maximum fine of $100. Having between two and six ounces of pot is considered a Level 2 Drug Misdemeanor, which results in a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $750.

Where can I consume/smoke marijuana?

Residents and visitors cannot consume cannabis openly or publicly in Colorado. This includes bars, restaurants, rooftop cafes, sports arenas, amusement parks, schools, parks, playgrounds, and transportation facilities. Residents are allowed to smoke in their own homes, as long as they own their home or their lease doesn’t have any smoking restrictions.

Can I have marijuana in my vehicle?

You can carry cannabis in your car; however, it must be in a sealed container. Additionally, it cannot cross state lines. It is against the law to consume cannabis in a vehicle.

Can I get a DUI for driving while/after smoking cannabis?

Yes. The legal limit for driving after consuming pot is four nanograms or less of THC per milliliter of blood. Anyone with five or more nanograms of THC in his/her blood can be charged with DUI.

Can I travel with marijuana purchased in Colorado?

No. You are not allowed to cross state and international lines with cannabis bought in Colorado.

If you have been arrested for a marijuana-related offense in Colorado, contact our Denver criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. today.

Categories: