Call Today 303.622.3281

Assault Charges & Penalties

Assault is defined as the threat or attempt to physically touch or strike a person in an offensive manner, causing bodily harm either knowingly or recklessly. There are three degrees of assault with regard to Colorado law: 1st and 2nd-degree charges which are considered felonies, and 3rd degree, which is a misdemeanor. At The Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C., you can find the Denver assault defense attorney that you need for experienced, knowledgeable and aggressive defense against your charges.

3 Types of Assault and Their Penalties

Within the three degrees of assault charges falls different types of assault, and their consequences if you are convicted. Knowing the distinction between the different charges can help you in anticipating what you may be up against in court.

  1. 1st-degree assault: This charge is given if you knowingly caused serious injury, disability, or disfigurement to another person, knowingly posed a serious risk to human life by acting reckless and indifferent towards human life, or if you used a deadly weapon to threaten a protected employee including police officers and firefighters. The penalties for a 1st-degree assault charge include serving 2 to 6 years in prison, depending on the specifics of the crime, as well as fines and probation.
  2. 2nd-degree assault: The difference between 1st and 2nd-degree assault is based primarily on the seriousness of the injuries incurred by the victim. You can be charged with 2nd degree assault if you recklessly cause injury to another person using a deadly weapon, if you harm someone while trying to guard them against a protected employee, if you drug a person with the intent to cause harm or violation of the person, or if you cause a protected employee to come into contact with toxic material or bodily fluids. 2nd-degree assault charges, if convicted, result in 1-4 years in prison, probation, and fines.
  3. 3rd-degree assault: As with the other 2 degrees, this charge involves the severity, or insignificance, of injuries to the victim, but is given if you cause bodily injury knowingly, or recklessly, using a deadly weapon or if you threaten or harm a protected employee using a dangerous substance. The penalties for a 3rd-degree assault charge include up to 1.5 years in prison, fines, and probation.

Pursuant to Colorado statutes the minimum and maximum penalties can be enhanced if certain facts are proven. Experienced criminal defense counsel can help ensure you are not wrongfully convicted or sentenced inappropriately.

Attorney David L. Owen, Jr. Can Help

Regardless of the degree of your assault charges, if you are accused of a crime, you need the help of a trial-tested attorney. Attorney David L. Owen, Jr. can work with you to review the evidence, find holes in the prosecution’s case, and build a strong defense based on facts so that you have the best chance possible at retaining your rights. He knows that your freedom is the most important thing and that you are innocent until proven guilty. When you need a defense lawyer you can count on, contact the Denver criminal defense lawyer who won’t give up—Attorney David L. Owen, Jr.

Contact the Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. today to discuss your case at (303) 622-3281.

Categories: