Call Today 303.622.3281

What Happens If You Don't Wear a Mask in Colorado?

In July 2020, Colorado Gov. Jared Polis issued a statewide mask mandate to curb the spread of COVID-19. According to the order, every Coloradan who is at least 11 years of age must wear a mask or face covering when they enter or move within public indoor space and when they use public and non-personal transportation services.

However, people do not have to wear a mask when seated at a restaurant, exercising outdoors (while practicing social distancing), receiving a personal service that requires temporary removal of the mask, entering a business for identification purposes, officiating a religious service, or giving a speech for an audience or broadcast. Additionally, children under 10 years old or younger or individuals who cannot medically tolerate wearing a mask are also exempt.

It is important to understand that this public health order is backed by the law. This means failure to comply with such orders may result in civil or criminal penalties. However, cities and counties throughout the state have issued their own set of penalties if residents do not have a face-covering in public.

The following is the breakdown of the penalties in different cities and counties throughout Colorado, as of August 2020:

  • Aspen – First offense is punishable by a maximum fine of $50, a second offense results in a fine of up to $250 (including mandatory court appearances), and subsequent offense carries a jail term of up to one year and a fine of no more than 2,650.
  • Boulder County – Punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine no more than $5,000.
  • Denver – Punishable by a maximum fine of $999 per violation.
  • Englewood – First offense is punishable by a maximum fine of $15, a second offense results in a fine of up to $25, and subsequent offense carries a jail term of up to one year and a fine of no more than 2,650.
  • Fort Collins – Carries a fine of up to $3,000.
  • Glenwood Springs – Carries a jail term of up to one year and a maximum fine of $1,000.
  • Louisville – Punishable by a court summons and the loss of a business license.
  • Summit County – Punishable by a jail term of up to 18 months and a maximum fine of $5,000.

If you or a loved one has been arrested in Denver, contact the Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. today at (303) 622-3281 and schedule a free consultation.

Categories: