Call Today 303.622.3281
Accused of Domestic Violence?

Denver Domestic Violence Attorney

Accused of Domestic Assault in Jefferson, Arapahoe, or Douglas County?

If you are facing domestic violence charges, which might include enhanced penalties for violating an order of protection, child abuse, or harassment, it is critical that you have a capable lawyer who can protect your rights and interests.

The Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. has the experience, skills, and Woman crying in hands - domestic violencecommitment needed to effectively protect you against a domestic violence conviction.

If you are facing charges for domestic abuse, discuss your case in a FREE consultation today.

Previous Client Testimonial

"David always had time to talk to me and, most importantly, counsel and educate me about the legal system and my defense."

- Former Client

What Constitutes a Domestic Violence Charge?

Behaviors that could leave you facing a domestic violence charge include:

Note that for the purposes of Colorado’s domestic violence law, the parties involved must be in a current or former intimate relationship based on a romantic attachment or shared parental status. Intimate relationships include:

  • A wife or husband, or an ex-wife or ex-husband
  • A girlfriend or boyfriend, or an ex-girlfriend or ex-boyfriend
  • A co-parent, including of adopted children

Generally, the following do not count as intimate relationships unless they also fall into one of the above categories:

  • Roommates
  • Co-workers
  • Friends
  • Acquaintances

Penalties and Sentencing

A domestic violence conviction carries several penalties, including:

  • Jail time
  • Treatment program
  • The loss of the right to possess a firearm
  • Lost job opportunities due to the mark on your criminal record

A domestic violence charge also triggers a mandatory protection order, which establishes that you may not have alcohol while the order is active and must maintain a significant distance from the alleged victim. It is a misdemeanor to violate a protective order, and you could face up to $5,000 in fines and up to 18 months in jail if you do so.

You may also lose your right to possess firearms while there is a restraining order against you, and if you have any firearms, you must surrender them to law enforcement, a dealer, or a private party. If your case gets dismissed and the restraining order is lifted, your firearms possession rights may then be reinstated. However, if you are convicted of a felony or a violent misdemeanor, you will lose your gun rights permanently.

Be aware that Colorado is a mandatory arrest state, which means that as soon as the police have probable cause to suspect you of domestic violence, they must arrest you whether or not the alleged victims want to press charges.

Note that a fourth conviction involving domestic violence labels you as a habitual domestic violence offender, which is a class 5 felony carrying:

  • 1-3 years in Colorado State Prison (with a mandatory 2-year parole), and/or
  • $1,000-$100,000 in fines.

Defenses Against a Domestic Violence Charge

Common arguments against domestic violence charges could be claiming:

  • self-defense;
  • lack of criminal intent;
  • false accusation.

Colorado law requires that domestic violence occur between intimate partners for a case to be brought to court, which means you may be able to argue that the accuser was never in an intimate relationship with you, thus eliminating the charge.

I can conduct a thorough investigation that seeks to answer the following questions:

  • Is the alleged victim stable?
  • Do neighbors and family members agree with the alleged victim's version of events?

I can work to uncover the full history of events to determine who is truly at fault. For more information, please contact my office.

Get 33+ Years of Experience on Your Side

I offer same-day appointments and am available weekends and evenings upon request. To discuss your domestic abuse case with a trusted Jefferson, Arapahoe, and Douglas Counties domestic assault defense attorney, reach out to me at the Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. today. I can visit you on the same day – even in jail. Trust a Denver domestic violence attorney with 33+ years of experience in the legal field to fight for your case.

Call the Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. as soon as possible at (303) 622-3281.

Tough Defense Strategies for Tough Criminal Charges

  • Fight to reduce, dismiss, or acquit your charges.

  • Keep you informed of your case at all times.

  • Available for evening, weekend appointments and jail visits.

  • Former first assistant federal public defender.

  • Complimentary and confidential consultations.

  • Will travel to you to hear your side of the story