Call Today 303.622.3281
Understanding Manslaughter Charges

Denver Manslaughter & Homicide Attorney

Serving Denver, Douglas, Jefferson, Arapahoe and Adams Counties

Manslaughter is a severely punished crime in many states. Unlike many states, Colorado doesn’t separate manslaughter into two categories (voluntary and involuntary); rather, voluntary manslaughter is considered 2nd-degree murder. Likewise, Colorado has 3 additional laws that cover accidental deaths.

If you’ve been accused of manslaughter, make sure to call an experienced manslaughter defense lawyer as soon as possible. The faster your attorney is informed of your case, the more time he or she has to mount a defense. I have 33 years of legal experience to offer your case.

Get started by calling me at (303) 622-3281 or using our online form today.

Types of Charges

  • The worst manslaughter charge you could face is 2nd-degree murder. This charge means you caused the death of another person in a sudden heat of passion. This crime is also a Class 3 felony and can get you up to 12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines.
  • Recklessly causing the death of another person or intentionally causing or assisting another person in committing suicide is considered manslaughter, which is a Class 4 felony. If convicted, you could face up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000.
  • Criminally negligent homicide is another type of manslaughter charge, involving causing the death of another person by being criminally negligent. It is typically a Class 5 felony leading to up to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000 in fines. However, if the victim is an adult or juvenile with a disability, it is a Class 4 felony.
  • Last, vehicular homicide includes causing another person’s death through reckless driving. This charge is typically a Class 4 felony but can become a Class 3 felony when drugs or alcohol are involved.

What is Considered Involuntary Manslaughter?

Involuntary Manslaughter is homicide that is committed without the intent to kill, but with criminal recklessness or negligence; or a death that results during the commission of or flight from a misdemeanor or felony that is not encompassed by the felony-murder rule. A defendant will only be guilty of involuntary manslaughter if the act that resulted in the victim’s death had a high and unreasonable risk of death. In addition to an unintentional killing committed in a criminally negligent or reckless manner, an unintentional killing caused during the commission of an unlawful act or a felony that does not trigger the felony murder rule is also involuntary manslaughter.

Let Me Help Defend Your Rights

If you are convicted of manslaughter, you could spend years of your life in prison. To give yourself the best chance of keeping your freedom, you need an experienced navigator who can guide you down the right path. As a former first assistant federal public defender, I understand how law enforcement and prosecutors think. Let me use this knowledge and experience to advocate on your behalf.

Contact the Law Offices of David L. Owen, Jr., P.C. online or at (303) 622-3281 to schedule your FREE case consultation today.

Tough Defense Strategies for Tough Criminal Charges

  • Fight to reduce, dismiss, or acquit your charges.

  • Keep you informed of your case at all times.

  • Available for evening, weekend appointments and jail visits.

  • Former first assistant federal public defender.

  • Complimentary and confidential consultations.

  • Will travel to you to hear your side of the story